Human Services

Korin A. Schmidt


Agency Overview
The Wyoming Department of Family Services (Department) is the state’s statutorily designated authority serving children, youth, and families in need of temporary or ongoing financial assistance and/or court-ordered social services. The Department’s work centers around three values:


Safe at home

Giving families opportunities for success

Supporting the people who support the families


Through its 28 offices and two youth serving facilities, the Department is committed to working in partnership with local communities to ensure the safety, well-being, and self-sufficiency of Wyoming’s most vulnerable populations.

Agency Background and Structure
The primary work of the Department is provided locally in every county and in its two youth serving facilities.
The Department is organized into four main divisions:

Social Services Division which provides services to vulnerable children, youth and adults, including the two facilities serving juvenile delinquents

Economic Security Division which administers food assistance, cash assistance, energy assistance, child support, the homelessness program, and child care assistance

Support Services Division which oversees Department technology, the Central Registry of Abuse and Neglect, human resources, policy and legislation, public relations and communications, and child care and substitute care licensing

Fiscal Services Division which provides financial support, accounting, and payments for the Department’s work.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter

Wyoming Governor Mark Gordon

Wyoming State Capitol

200 W. 24th St.

Cheyenne, WY 82001

(307) 777-7434

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
We invite you to visit Wyoming Sense on a desktop computer for a full experience.